The Reformed Church

The Reformed Church was born in the 15th century in Europe.

During the sixteenth century, a wave of reform movements aimed at the abuses of the Roman Catholic Church swept through Europe. Many people began to follow and support the Reformers, and were popularly deemed “Protestants.” Eventually, some of the reformers broke away from the Roman Catholic Church altogether, and formed new separate “Reformed” or “Protestant” churches.

Some of the new churches that began as a result of the Reformation were Lutheran and Anabaptist churches in Germany, Anglican (Episcopalian) churches in England, Reformed churches in Switzerland and France, and Presbyterian churches in Scotland—among others.

The Reformed Churches formed one branch of the Protestant churches that broke from the Roman Catholic Church of that day. They began in the sixteenth century in Switzerland under the leadership of Ulrich Zwingli and John Calvin.

In the centuries that followed, these churches spread across Europe, particularly to France, the Netherlands, and Scotland. By the eighteenth century, they spread to North America, Africa, and many other parts of the globe.

More Reformed Church Doctrine: 

Brief History of the Heidelberg Catechism

Heidelberg Catechism

The Apostle’s Creed

The Nicene Creed


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s